Week 32: Zero Waste Deodorant

Here we go again on another zero waste bathroom joyride! Much of my previous routine has been “greenified” already, but there is still a long way to go. Recently, I ran out of deodorant (in other words: I lost it, but as it was almost empty, in my brain it feels like I ran out and the stick just took the pain of binning away from me by hiding forever).

Anyway, so I ran out of deodorant after over 12 months, which I consider very efficient in terms of zero waste already. In case you were wondering, I was using a deo stick which are the longest lasting of all types. Instead of going out any buying a new one, though (I haven’t shopped for cosmetic products in months!), I just started rubbing some of my toothpaste under my arms.

Wait!,
I hear you think.

I’m doing WHAT!?

An explanation seems appropriate. Of course I’m not rubbing conventional toothpaste on my armpits (iehk), but my homemade toothpaste, which consists of two ingredients: baking soda and coconut oil. Despite my intentions to add flavourings of some kind, I got used to it and quite like the saltiness, so after all the months of using it, I stayed true to the original two-ingredients recipe.

When I first realised that my deodorant was gone for good, I was short on time and pressed for a quick fix. Good job I paid attention to other zero wasters and their methods, and a lot use baking soda as odor eliminator. As well as that, coconut oil would give it an apply-able consistency (because powder seldomly goes where you want it, especially not in a horizontal manner under your arms).

Baking soda and coconut oil rang a bell in my head. Yes, of course! It’s the exact same stuff that keeps my teeth clean! As it seems, it is also rumoured to be capable of keeping my arms smell-free. I didn’t think much and just tried it.

I can happily say that it works for me! I am saying “for me” as I know that it won’t work for everyone as we all have different bodies and hygiene standards. My perspiration ranges from light to stinky depending on the time of the month, so I never know what to expect when I go out. Because of this, and of my usually high stress levels, and of my student status, I have learned not to care too much whether I smell of roses or not. Having said that, I do despise body odor, and I am happy to say my new deodorant actually covers all of my sweatiness-ranges quite nicely đŸ™‚

It’s not an antiperspirant as many sites on the internet will confirm; it doesn’t stop your pits from getting wet. So if you have a problem with that, your best bet is trying a different way. I have usually little problems with that, and my number one priority is just to not attract the attention of others by stinking: So with this aim, it’s a success!

There are, nonetheless, a few cautions to take to this recipe: Baking soda does cause irritation if you have sensitive skin or have been shaving just before. Moreover, some people have noticed that coconut oil may stain their clothes, but this depends greatly on how much is being used.

Due to my lack of long-term testing, I’ve included some more recipes and reviews of home made deodorants by some fellow bloggers at the Zero Waste Bloggers Network. Have a look around and pick what you fancy most!

Find Ashley’s two posts about her deodorant journey here and here. Eva’s recipe including cornstarch can be read here. And Nadine wrote about her homemade deodorant back in October here.

Any more questions? Drop me a comment if yes! And if you have a recipe I can link to, don’t hesitate to let me know and I shall include it on here đŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Week 32: Zero Waste Deodorant

  1. Hanne says:

    I have been using a mix of coconut oil, cocoa butter, baking soda and arrowroot powder for the past few weeks, and so far I really like it. The cocoa butter makes it solid enugh that I could actually just refill my empty stick deodrant. I love that it goes on so smoothly and I don’t have to get all that grease on my fingers, and it keeps me from stinking!

    Like

  2. madgoesgreen says:

    I use the same combination as Nadine listed above: coconut oil, baking soda, cornstarch and lavender oil, which has been working very well. My husband hasn’t had such a good experience as the oil leaked and stained his clothes. I was quite surprised as I didn’t have the same thing happening to me. I have bought organic bees wax and will mix it with the other ingredients, so maybe this will work for him. I started to homemake most of my beauty products around September last year and haven’t bought anything since. One of the items I am still struggling with is the shampoo. I have tried the no poo method, but its simply not working for me. Living in a tropical country, I will opt for a kaffir lime shampoo, so will see. Thanks for sharing your experiences… we all can do something small to create a bigger and better impact on our environment.

    Like

  3. Nadine says:

    I have loved the switch, and find I am more prone to smelly pits with store bought deodorant. My mix is coconut oil, baking soda, corn starch, and lavender oil. I don’t smell at all, which was my main concern. Trying to convince a friend of mine to stick with it, as she likes the convenience of the stick, instead of using your fingers to spread it on. It has quickly become part of my morning routine.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts

