Week 18: Self-made produce bags

Last week, I have found an old, fairly ugly pillow cover – and finally decided to make my own cloth bags.

Cloth Bags

I previously refused to buy fabric for this purpose, as I knew I would sooner or later find something in my home that will do well as a bag (I thought about my t-shirts at first, but the pillow cover is perfect for the purpose). I searched around the internet a bit and found a very good and sufficiently easy tutorial on My Happy Crazy Life, and even for me as a non-sewing person, it was more than simple to make these bags!

I’m not going through all the steps, as they’re explained very well on this blog, but I took pictures of each of the steps I went through. I didn’t have a sewing machine, so both bags took me a few hours each. It’s a very relaxing thing to do though, and I enjoyed doing these on my own.

Have a look:

The pillow cover.

The pillow cover.

Cutting it up.

Cutting it up.

Sewing the hem. These are the only stitches I know :D

Sewing the hem. These are the only stitches I know 😀

The top of the first one. Very easy to sew with a few pins.

The top of the first one. Very easy to sew with a few pins.

The second got a mash window

The second got a mesh window.

So glad I kept that spare mesh for months!

So glad I kept that spare mesh for months!

Finished products.

Finished products.

I’m planning on make some more, bigger and smaller ones. I have one more ugly pillow cover to use. Transformed into bags they look a lot prettier!

Let me know if you made yourself some bags, I’d love to see pictures and inspiration!

9 thoughts on “Week 18: Self-made produce bags

    • thingio says:

      That’s amazing. I love that so many things in our homes can be so easily re-purposed, even if we thought their time was up. Maybe I’ll get my boyfriend to ‘donate’ some of his stuff … 😉

      Like

Tell me your thoughts

