Week 14: Menstrual cups!

If you’re not the kind of person that appreciates female hygiene details, I’d recommend not reading on. I’m proud to say, this week I finally made the transition from disposable towels and tampons to a menstrual cup. I’ve been eyeing them for quite some time, but never got myself to order one online. Until I discovered that our local health store stocks them, and I thought ‘fuck it’ and just got it.

I initially noticed that it’s quite a different kind of investment – £20 for this one. But I soon got convinced that since I’m having huge savings over years on disposable products, it actually quickly pays for itself. With the right care, the cup is supposed to last for years. I didn’t calculate it myself, but seeing the maths in Dollars (in a post by Lauren from Trash is for Tossers), I am deeply impressed with the savings I can make. I do recommend her post as she explains it quite well for people who don’t know what a menstrual cup is.

Anyway, I won’t go too much into detail, but to be brief, it’s pretty awesome. The advantages are numerous: it’s as easy as using any other products once you get used to it, it’s incredibly comfortable, you need no other things along with it, there is no leaks, no waking up in the middle of the night and stumbling to the loo, no awkward moments when you really need to change your tampon. It can literally stay in all day (although it’s not recommended), you feel nothing once it’s in, and then you just empty it on the loo, clean, and put it back in.

The only thing I noticed is that you have to get used to it in the beginning. It’s quite a ‘hands-on’ thing and especially getting it out you have to be confident with your body, as there’s no string to pull out as with tampons. At the beginning, it even hurt a bit with me, but I soon figured out a technique and after a few tries I’m already quite confident in handling it.

I do want to recommend to everybody to use a menstrual cup in order to stop the flood of disposable hygiene products, do your body a favour and grant your self some convenience and peace when on your period. There is literally no downturn. You don’t have to constantly make sure you have spares in your bag, no pain when your flow is too light for a tampon, it even doesn’t smell as bad as towels or tampons do, and there is no more touching blood than with other products. I could go on forever here!

Well, I’ve only started a few days ago and I don’t see me going back. My next step will be finding (or sewing) my own reusable liners and completely ditch the disposables for good!

6 thoughts on “Week 14: Menstrual cups!

    • thingio says:

      I definitely will! I’d like to own a few in case I need a break from the cup, but also outside my period I want to find some cloth liners as I’m a heavy liner user. Have you got any suggestion? 🙂

      Like

      • rmk1980 says:

        Well I got a set from Cheeky Wipes which I’m really happy with and they currently have 25% off until the end of the month. Recently I’ve got pads from Eco Rainbow and Dimplemuff which I haven’t had the chance to use yet, but they are really well made with lovely fabrics. Dimplemuff are made to order so you have to allow two or three weeks for delivery. Check out the Boobalou website too. There are a lot of offers on at the moment with it being Real Nappy week. There are also sewing patterns available online if you’re inclined to make your own, but personally i don’t think that the outlay for the absorbent materials would be worth it. Good luck! I’ll be interested to hear how you get on.

        Like

  1. zanygreenquest says:

    Ok, what is wrong with me? Everyone loves the cup but me and one other blogger I’ve run into! See my post titled “I don’t love my menstrual cup” hahaha.
    Glad it’s working out great for you though 😀

    Like

    • thingio says:

      Haha funny you mention that, as I stumbled over your post shortly after publishing mine! It’s true that I needed to get used to it and putting it in and taking it out was so weird! But then, once it’s in it was fabulous and I just didn’t feel it (my greatest fear). The only thing I can definitely understand: I’m just not a person who likes something inside her body a lot, so every few hours I would think “I need to take it out” and then I realised that when I take it out I just stick it back in. And I just went with it. I was the same with no-poo. I didn’t work out 100% for the first few months, and I just kept on going. No idea where this determination should come from! But yeah, I understand the sentiment behind it. On another note, have you ever tried washable towels? If so, let me know how it went 😉 All the best!!!

      Like

Tell me your thoughts

