Week 1: Getting started

Finally, I have come to start my little 2015 experiment.

In the first week of this year, I have been doing some last preparation towards this experiment. First, of course, came setting up this pretty little blog, which does not only function as me telling you what I have been up to, but also as a very good reminder to myself: I may try to forget my resolution, but if there is people on the other end waiting for my next post, how can I possibly opt out anymore?

I have also sorted 99% of my former possessions from my parents’ home and determined, now finally, what I want to keep and what needs to go. Any of you who were moving out for the first time have done this before in their lives. With me, it is even harder, as anything of my childhood possessions I wish to keep has to fit in a suitcase to go back flying from Germany to Scotland! I spent about great parts of three days being ruthless with memory-loaded clutter. I count this as a start into a new life with less stuff and more awareness. But the clutter-free journey is just about beginning!

I hope you are enjoying what you will be reading over the next 12 months and I wouldn’t be sad if it inspires you to reflect over your own live style just as I started to reflect last autumn. Watch this blog for some Zero Waste/green/minimalistic/simple/sustainable/unconventional/self-made experiments!!

2 thoughts on “Week 1: Getting started

  1. Jenna B says:

    Best of luck to you! I’m sure your little experiment will have nothing but positive impacts on your life. 🙂

    Like

    • thingio says:

      Thanks Jenna! I do think so, too, but it’s the greatest encouragement to know there is a few people who are interested in what you’re doing and how you get on. Maybe by the end of this year, I even inspired others to try themselves. What could be more rewarding? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me your thoughts

